VAct Technologies

Automotive → ASPICE

What is ASPICE?

ASPICE (Automotive Software Process Improvement Capability determination) is an industry-standard guideline for evaluating software development processes. Introduced in 2005, ASPICE helps automotive suppliers incorporate best practices to identify defects earlier in development and ensure that OEM requirements are met.

ASPICE → V-model

ASPICE leverages the V-model of software development, which splits the process into two parts. The letter V on left side represents the design and development steps, and the right side represents the testing steps.
Requirement Elicitation 9

ASPICE → Levels

ASPICE model suppliers who follow this can earn certifications according to standardized achievement phases; the ASPICE standard is scored in levels from zero to five, which clients can use to evaluate the proficiency of the development team.
ASPICE defines a set of process capability levels that organizations can use to assess their software development processes. These levels range from
  • Level 0: Basic.
You can at most “partially” achieve ASPICE requirements and should focus more on managing basic tasks than meeting higher standards.
  • Level 1: Performed.
Likely to have gaps, This level is either nearly or entirely delivering the standard requirements but may need to fill in your process.
  • Level 2: Managed
You can reliably deliver the work products and nearly or entirely achieve the ASPICE standards in addition to the work products.
  • Level 3: Established.
You have established and set the performance standards for the organization and continuously evaluate and learn from them.
  • Level 4: Predictable.
In addition to having established and met performance standards, you measure, record, and analyze outcomes to enable objective evaluation.
  • Level 5: Innovating.
You achieve and analyze performance standards to obtain quantitative feedback and causal analysis resolution and invest in continuous improvement.